This is the "Journals FAQ" page of the "Library FAQs" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library FAQs  

Frequently asked questions and answers for my library account, library materials, notices and assessment materials.
Last Updated: Oct 15, 2015 URL: http://alliant.libguides.com/libraryfaqs Print Guide RSS Updates

Journals FAQ Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Journals FAQs

How do I find a journal article? (Overview)
How do I find an article in a print journal available at my home library?
How do I find out if an article is full-text online?
I can't find the journal in print at my home library or online.
I found an article I want in one of the databases, but there is no link to the full text and no “Find Full Text” button to order it from ArticleReach. What do I do?

How do I find a journal article? (Overview)

  • Go to the library's homepage.
  • If you already know the journal title:
    • Search Encore or Classic Catalog for print (hard copy) and online availability.
    • Also search "List of Online Journals"
  • If you are searching for journal articles on a topic:
    • From the database page choose an online database (or databases if you select “Ebscohost Research Databases”) to search for articles. Not everything is full text in the databases. 
    • Don’t forget to also check to see if the library has the articles either in print or online.  The library purchases several journal packages to supplement the databases.
  • If you only want full-text journals you can limit your search to retrieve full text articles only.

How do I find an article in a print journal available at my home library?

  • Go to the library homepage. Select "Classic Catalog," then click on "Journals" under "Other Searches" (a blue menu to the right of the search box).
  • Type in the journal title you wish to find.  Make sure you are typing in the journal title and not the article title.
  • Or search Encore by typing in the journal title in the search box from the library's homepage. Click on the + (plus) symbol to show Library Holdings.
  • Check to make sure your library has the journal title in the date range you need. If there is a "latest received" link, click that to find information on specific issues. If your library does not have the journal or it is not available full-text through one of our databases or journal packages, request a particular journal article from Interlibrary Loan.[ ILL Help ]

How do I find out if an article is full-text online?

  • From the library's homepage search for full-text availability:
    • Click on "List of Online Journals." Type in the journal title and follow the link.
    • Search journal title in Encore or Classic Catalog, then follow the links to possible full-text.

I can't find the journal in print at my home library or online.

Check your search:

  • Check your spelling.
  • Did you type it exactly? If it's "Journal of," did you type "Journal in" by mistake?
  • If you are using the full-text link or the journal titles in the catalog, make sure you are looking for the title of the whole journal and not the title of the particular article.

Use other services:

  • Request through Interlibrary Loan. [ ILL Help ]
  • The ILL Journal request form is ONLY for journals/articles not available in one of the full-text databases or journal packages.
  • If you need your journal article in a hurry and can’t wait 7-28 days to get from Interlibrary Loans you can search WorldCat (link on database page) to find other libraries in your area that might have the journal.  You will need to go to the library to make copies.

I found an article I want in one of the databases, but there is no link to the full text and no “Find Full Text” button to order it from ArticleReach. What do I do?

               Note: Please check the catalog to be sure the journal is not subscribed by Alliant. If it is, do not use the ArticleReach request form.

   1.       From the library's homepage, on the left side, under "Services," click Interlibrary Loan.

    2.        Scroll to this sentence:

  • Check to see if the journal you need is available through ArticleReach, for faster service!


   3.      Click the ArticleReach link.
   4.       Type the name of the journal your article appeared in.
   5.       Click on the journal title’s first occurrence in the results list.
   6.       On the page that follows, click “Request an article” (near the center of the page).
   7.       Tell ArticleReach you’re from Alliant.
   8.       Log in with your last name and student ID #.
   9.       Fill out the form as completely as you can, and click Submit.


Updated and revised/edited RES 1/15/2014

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip