HoursLocationsStaffDonationsEmployment
DatabasesList of Online JournalsSearch GuidesUseful Links (opens in new page)Special Collections
Ask-A-LibrarianActivate AccountMy Library AccountCourse ReservesInterlibrary LoanAssessment MaterialBorrowing PoliciesStudents, Staff & FacultyAlumni & VisitorsPrinting & CopyingStudy Rooms
ENCORE CatalogLINK+ CatalogClassic CatalogAlliant Theses
This is the "Donations" page of the "Alliant Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Alliant Library  

Last Updated: Feb 22, 2017 URL: http://alliant.libguides.com/content.php?pid=420356 Print Guide RSS Updates

Donations Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Donation policy

Home > About > Donations

Donation Acceptance Policy

Donation Form | Collection Development Policy | Special Collections

The resources at the Library have been enhanced over the years not only through purchase of materials but also through the acceptance of many valuable and useful gifts. Appropriate gifts can greatly enrich the resources of the university and support our commitment to excellence. To facilitate the donation process, the following guidelines are provided.

The Library does not have facilities for individual special collections. Therefore, gifts are integrated into the general collection.Special collections may be designated online with virtual bookplates.

The Library reserves the sole right to accept any materials offered, and to determine retention, location, type of cataloging and other considerations related to its use or disposition. Books that do not complement the library collection may be exchanged, sold, or discarded. Duplicates of books already in the collection may be offered to other Alliant campus libraries.

To protect the donor and the university, the Alliant Library, as an interested party, does not establish values of gifts for tax purposes. If the donor desires an appraisal, it is the donor’s responsibility to estimate values or employ the services of an independent consultant.

Those who wish to use their donation for tax purposes must provide their name, address, phone number, description and estimated gift value with their book donation; they will then receive an acknowledgement of their gift from the university.

How to donate material:

We encourage prospective donors to prepare a list of titles of books, as well as the author and date of publication, prior to transferring ownership of their property. If this is not possible, please contact the library in advance so that the acceptability of the proposed donation may be determined. We are currently not able to pick up donations at other locations. In addition, any postage and handling incurred in the course of donating items is the sole responsibility of the donor.

We are not able to accept the following:
  • Textbooks (most recent edition ok)
  • Periodicals
  • Material in poor physical condition
  • Older editions and out-of-date material
  • Materials not related to academic programs
Alliant's main areas of study are:
  • Psychology
  • Education
  • Business
  • Forensic Studies
  • International Relations

If you'd like to donate or need more information, contact the following for each location
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip