This is the "Art and Sciences" page of the "Useful Links" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Useful Links  

Last Updated: Jun 23, 2015 URL: http://alliant.libguides.com/usefulinks Print Guide RSS Updates

Art and Sciences Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Links for the Arts and Sciences

Home > Research > Useful Links > Art

Reference |Arts & Sciences| Business | Education | Psychology | General | Other

The following are suggestions for links to sites outside Alliant. We are not responsible for the content. Some links might not offer free access.

 


Arts and Sciences


Art & Art History | English | Climate, Earth, Space and General Sciences | Health and Medicine | Humanities | International Relations | Literature |  Sociology  Mathematics |

Art & Art History

Artcyclopedia All things art, including artists, artworks, art movements and news.

Art History Resources Well-organized, multicultural directory of links to art and art history subjects worldwide.

Climate, Earth, Space and General Sciences

National Aeronautics and Space Administration NASA is in charge of U.S. science and technology that has to do with airplanes or space.

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration  Provides daily weather forecasts, severe storm warnings and climate monitoring...

National Science Foundation (NSF) is a United States government agency that supports fundamental research and education in all the non-medical fields of science and engineering.

U.S. Geological Survey The USGS is a science organization that provides impartial information on the health of our ecosystems and environment, the natural hazards that threaten us, the natural resources we rely on, the impacts of climate and land-use change, and the core science systems that help us provide timely, relevant, and useable information. It's also the go-to place for earthquake information.

English 

A Way With Words A public radio program about language examined through history, culture, and family.

APA Style American Psychological Association Style Guide resources.

English Language History Online Resources Links include: General sources, phonetics, Nostratic, Indo-European, Germanic, Old English, Middle English, and Modern English.

Grammarly handbook Easy to navigate American English grammar site. 

The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) Geared for all levels of writers, including ESL, grades 7-12, college and grad students, professional writers and job searchers.

Health and Medicine

Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is a federal agency that conducts and supports health promotion, prevention and preparedness activities in the United States with the goal of improving overall public health.

Food and Drug Administration FDA is responsible for protecting the public health by assuring the safety, efficacy and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, medical devices, our nation's food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation.

National Institutes of Health NIH is the nation’s medical research agency—supporting scientific studies that turn discovery into health.

National Library of Medicine The world’s largest biomedical library.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.

Humanities, General

Voice of the Shuttle An all encompassing database of the Humanities.

International Relations 

Country Studies
The Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress offers online books that describe and analyze the background and the social, economic, political, systems of over 100 countries. Good for historical research as the most recent information dates to 2004.

The World Factbook

From the CIA. Brief information on the geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military and transnational issues of over 250 countries and islands. Includes maps. 

The WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources

Over 2600 annotated links divided into media sources, organizations, regions and countries, and topics like international business, international development, international communications, the global environment, and human rights. 

Literature 

English Literature on the Web An extensive literature directory with links. It includes information on American and British literature.

Luminarium: Anthology of English Literature Covers primarily Medieval to 18th century literature.  

Shakespeare Resource Center

Includes links about Shakespeare, his plays, the Globe theater, his time, and the Elizabethan language.

Shakespeare Searched  "[A] search engine designed to provide quick access to passages from Shakespeare's plays and sonnets."

Mathematics 

American Mathematical Society Provides a list, with links, of math Websites to explore.

Sociology

American Sociological Association 

Information on careers in sociology, code of ethics, employment links, funding opportunities, media releases, and some articles. 

Links last checked on March 17, 2015 by RES.


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip