Emerald Management Xtra
Emerald Management Xtra
Alliant Libraries http://library.alliant.edu
Emerald Group Publishing has become the world’s leading scholarly publisher of journals and books in business and management with a strong and growing presence in disciplines including LIS, social sciences, engineering, linguistics and audiology. All of Emerald research journals are peer-reviewed to ensure the highest quality.
Access: Alliant students, faculty and staff members:
From the Alliant Library’ home page, click on Databases then Emerald Management Xtra. For remote users you will be prompted for your user name (full name) and 14-digit library barcode or ID number. (Pop-ups & cookies will need to be enabled.) If you have not activated your library account please fill out the form located on the library web page or contact your home library so you can be added to the system. ID cards are generally obtained at your campuses’ One-Card office.
Make sure box under the Emerald log says “Welcome Alliant International University”. If it does not say that then you are not properly authenticated and will have problems opening full-text articles. You can return the library home page and first log into “My Library Account”. Then click on “Library Home”. You should see “You are logged into Alliant International University /All Locations as [your name]” in red on the page.
Emerald’s home page can look a little busy and the search boxes are not obvious.
- Left Side –
- Search for [enter your search term or terms] in either “All content” or click on the down arrow to limit to journals or books.
- Advanced Search – see below for further details
- Browse – click on category to browse. If you click “Books & Journals” you will see a list of titles indexed in the database.
- Center Box –
- Same as the search box on the left side. Type in search term or terms separated by appropriate Boolean operators and search in either “all content” or limit to books or journals.
- Quick Access – Can select a particular journal title or book and see the latest issue’s table of contents.
Across the top of the search screen you will see tabs for All, Journals, Books, Bibliographic Databases, Case Studies, and Site Pages. You can either search across all of these categories or limit to just journals or books.
Constructing a search – the Advanced Search screen helps you construct a proper Boolean search string with three lines separated by the “AND” operator. Use to separate individual search terms or phases by typing one on each line.
Limits (there are several methods of limiting your search terms):
- Match – match on all, any or phrase.
- Fields – search terms in all fields or limit to a particular field like author, content title or publication title.
- Publication Date – limit items published between a range of dates.
- Within – limit search to all content or “my subscribed content” (Alliant’s subscription).
The results screen will show the first five items retrieved in each category (Journals, Books, etc.). The items are sorted with the newest first. Under each category title it will say “View all [number retrieved] results. The green checkmark next to an item indicates Alliant has access to this item. Generally each available item has the option of viewing in either HTML or PDF. Either option should include the citation information with the DOI information.
To mark items you must first click on the category tab (i.e. click on Journals tab). From there you can view your results and mark any items you wish to export, up to 10 unless you have created an Emerald Profile. Once you have checked the items click on “Go” to add to marked list. Once you click on Go you will see “Items have been added to your Session marked list. Please note: this can hold a maximum of 10 items only, and is not permanent. You currently have 5 items in your session marked list. To have larger lists that are permanent, please log in to your Emerald profile.” To view click on “Marked Lists” link on left side of screen.
Once you have selected items and created a marked list, or if you have selected the full article to displayed, it may be read, e-mailed, printed, or saved to disc. If viewing a PDF document make sure you select the e-mail, print, or download icon from the PDF tool bar, not the browser toolbar. Occasionally, the full text of an article can only be faxed to your campus library.
- Printing – If you have only marked items from a title list all that will print is the citation and abstract. You will not get the full text. You must select each item and pull up the full text before selecting “print” to get the full text. If viewing an HTML article it is okay to select the browser print icon.
- Download – The same is true for downloading a saved list. You will only get the citation and abstract. You much download each full-text item individually.
- Email – If you email your marked list you will get the citation and abstract and a link to the full-text. The link may not work since it bypasses the library authentication process. It is recommended that you pull up each article and email individually.
- Direct Export
- To Endnote, Reference Manager
- To Refworks
- Export to a text file (RIS format)
- View on screen
- Download to file
- Email to address
What is ePUB?
ePUB is a standard that renders ebook content into a format that can be easily read on a mobile device (phone, ebook reader, gaming devices etc). Users are able to download and print (PDF), read online (HTML) or download for reading on a portable device (ePUB).
How can users access ePUB?
- To download ePUB files, a website visitor must first have access to the relevant book chapters through their institution and be either logged in or authenticated via an institution IP address.
- Once logged in, or authenticated, the customer sees the ePUB file icon appear on the Emerald website as an additional download option (alongside HTML and PDF).
- Ebooks and ebook chapters can then be downloaded on various mobile devices in ePUB format for individual ebooks and ebook chapters on the Emerald website.