Architecture of a CitationCiting In TextFormatting Author InformationCiting Personal CommunicationsCiting Indirect Sources (secondary sources)Citing Sources with Missing Information (author, date, or page numbers)Periodicals (journals, magazines, newspapers, etc.)Books, eBooks, Book Chapters
This is the "Books, eBooks, Book Chapters" page of the "Dissertation & Doctoral Project Formatting & Clearance" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Dissertation & Doctoral Project Formatting & Clearance  

After you successfully defend your dissertation or doctoral project, what happens? This is a guide to submitting your dissertation or doctoral project for the formatting check and final copy.
Last Updated: Apr 5, 2017 URL: http://alliant.libguides.com/LibraryClearance Print Guide RSS Updates

Books, eBooks, Book Chapters Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Book by a single author


Author, A. (Year). Title of book. Place of publication: Publisher.

Example:

Pratt, C. (2007). The encyclopedia of shamanism. New York, NY: Rosen
Publishing Group, Inc.


Book by two or more authors


Author, A. A., & Author, D. D. (Year). Title of book.

  • When there are two or more authors, use an ampersand between the two authors or the last two authors and include a comma before the ampersand.

Example:

Hanson, R., & Mendius, R. (2009). Buddha’s brain: The practical neuroscience of
happiness, love and wisdom. Oakland, CA: New Harbinger Publications, Inc.

  • When the DOI number is included, the location and publisher are no longer included.

Example:

Matson, J. (2009). Social behavior and skills in children. doi:10.1007/978-1-4419-0234-4


Book by a group author with no DOI


Group author. (Year). Title of book. Location: Publisher.

Example:

American Psychological Association. (2010). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.). Washington, DC: Author.

  • When the group author is also the publisher, use the word Author for the publisher information. In this case, the author is an association so the American Psychological Association is listed as the author, and the word Author is listed as the publisher of the publication manual.
  • Since this is a print book with no DOI number, the location and publisher are included.


 Book with DOI (Retrieved online)

See APA Style posting on books, reference books, and book chapters

Author, A. A., & Author, D. D. (Year). Title of book. doi:10.XXX.XXXXXXXX 


When no author or publisher are mentioned, follow this format:

Title of book. (Year). doi:10.XXXXXXXXXXXXX

Examples:

Swinnen, 

J. F. M., & Rozelle, S. (2009). Marx and Mao to the market: The economics and politics of agricultural transition. doi:10.1093/0199288917.001.0001

 Rapporto

sullo stato dell'editoria in Italia 2007. (2007). doi:10.978.8889637/210

 American

Psychiatric Association. (2000). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (4th ed., text rev.). doi:10.1176/appi.books.9780890423349.7060

  • When the DOI number is provided, the location and publisher is not provided.
  • The letters, doi, are not capitalized when used in the reference citation.
  • There is no period after the DOI number. 


Multivolume work.

Author, A. (Year). Title of multivolume work(Vol. volume number-s). Place of publication: Publisher. See APA manual (6th ed.), p. 204, #23

Example:

Schlager,

N. (Ed.). (2000-2004). How products are made: An illustrated guide to product manufacturing  (Vols. 1-4). Detroit, MI: Gale Research.

Mill, L. (1996). Architecture of the Old South (Vols. 1-2). Savannah, GA:  Beehive Foundation.       

  • When the publication dates for a multivolume work extends to more than one year, list the year range. For example, (2000-2004).


Book, title translated into English, book translated  

Include translator name after the title of the book.

Example:

Freud, S. (1911). The interpretation of dreams (3rd ed.). (A. A. Brill, Trans.). New York, NY: Kessinger.

  •  If the non-English work is used as the source, give the title in the original language and put the translated title in English. For example, Die traumdeteun. [The interpretation of dreams].In the above example, the book was translated into English so the title in German was not included. See APA manual (6th ed.), p. 205, #28.

Two authors with same surname, published books


When there are two or more primary authors with the same surname, APA instructs to include the first author's initials in all text citations even if the year of publication is different. This is done to help prevent possible confusion by the reader.  For example, A. Freud (1961) and S. Freud (1950) took ....

 Freud,

A. (1961). The ego and the mechanisms of defence (C. Baines, Trans.). London, England: Hogarth Press.

Freud, S. (1950). Beyond the pleasure principle (J. Strachey, Trans.). New York, NY: Liveright.


 Book chapter in a volume within a book series 


See APA (6th ed.), p. 204, #24

Guthrie,

D. J. S. (2008). 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) in the elucidation of peptide structure. In G. B. Irvine & C. H. Williams (Eds.), Methods in Molecular Biology: Vol. 73. Neuropeptide protocols (pp. 163-184). Totowa, NJ: Humana Press.  doi:10.1385/0-89603-399-6:163

  • The important words in the title of the book series are capitalized -- Methods in Molecular Biology, but the words in the the title of the specific volume only have the first word in the title and subtitle (if any) capitalized -- Neuropeptide protocols. Notice that there is a period after Vol. 73.
  • APA does not use superscript except for mathematics and science formula like at the beginning of the chapter title.
     
     (Credit: The majority of the examples on this page were taken from: http://nova.campusguides.com/content.php?pid=114919&sid=992738)

 

Book Chapters and Entries

See APA (6th ed.), pp. 202-204, section 7.02 and APA Style posting on books, reference books, and book chapters.

Book chapter

Idler,

E. (2003). Beliefs. In Multidimensional measurement of religiousness/spirituality for use in health research: A report of the Fetzer Institute/National Institute on aging working group (pp. 31-33). Kalamazoo, MI: The John E. Fetzer Institute.

 

 Pargament,

K. I. (1998). Religion and coping. In Handbook of religion and mental health (pp. 111-128). San Diego, CA: Academic Press.

 

           Smith,

J., III. (2012). New directions for investor protection. In B. Silverstein Jr., Handbook of investment (pp. 214-233). Paris, France: World Bank.

  • If the author has a suffix like Smith, J., III, there is a comma between the initial and the suffix. However, if the editor's name has a suffix, there is no comma because the last name is not in reverse order. For example, B. Silverstein Jr.  For more information, see the APA blog posting on suffixes.
  • Provide a reference citation for a book chapter when the author of the chapter is different from the author or editor of the book. If the chapter is in a book with a single author, then you do not provide a citation for specific chapters, just the entire book. However, you can have a text citation for a chapter of a book that has a single author. For example, (Smith, 2011, Chapter 2) or In Chapter 2, Smith (2011) stated that....
  • The book chapter is listed with "In ..." followed by the name of the book.
  • Only the first word in the book title and the subtitle as well as proper names like Fetzer Institute should be capitalized. 
  • Include the page numbers with p. or pp. in parentheses after the book title and before the period.
  • Include the city and the state abbreviation for the location or city and country.

Ex. 2: Book chapter in edited book

Hawkins,

R. C., & Clement, P. F. (1984). Binge eating: Measurement problems and a conceptual model. In R. C. Hawkings, II, W. J. Fremouw, & P. F. Clement (Eds.), The binge-purge syndrome: Diagnosis, treatment, and research (pp. 229-251). New York, NY: Springer. 

 

 Lacey,

J. H. (1986). Pathogenesis. In I. J. Downey, J. C. Malkin (Eds),  Current approaches: Bulimia nervosa. (pp. 241-265). Southampton, United Kingdom: Duphar.

 Johnson,

A. M., Verson, P. A., & Feiler, A. R. (2008). Behavioral genetic studies of personality: An introduction and review of the results of 50+ years of research. in G. J. Boyle, G.  Matthews, & D. H. Saklofske, The SAGE Handbook of Personality Theory and Assessment: Vol 1: Personality theories and models (pp. 145-173). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage. 

 

 American

 Psychiatric Association. (2000). Appendix I: Outline for cultural formulation and glossary of culture bound syndromes. In Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (4th ed., text rev.). Washington, DC: Author.

  •   When the group author is also the publisher, use the word Author for the publisher information. In this case, the author is an association so the American Psychological Association is listed as the author, and the word Author is listed as the publisher of the publication manual.

If a book chapter has a DOI number, the number replaces the location and publisher information.

American Psychiatric Association. (2000). Appendix I: Outline for cultural formulation and glossary of culture bound syndromes. In Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (4th ed., text rev.). doi:10.1176/appi.books.9780890423349.7060

 Ex. 3: Entry in a print encyclopedia or dictionary, no author or editor.
Entry heading or title. (Year). In Title of encyclopedia  (Vol. volume number, then if appropriate, pp. page#s). Place of publication: Publisher.

Webster's new world dictionary of the American language (2nd ed.). (2009). New York, NY: Simon and Schuster.

  - Ex. 4: Book chapter in book retrieved from archival database.
See APA manual (6th ed.), pp. 192, 204, # 25, information about subscription databases on p. 207, 7.05

Smith, R. J.  (2010). William Faulkner. In J. T. Culpepper (Ed.), Contemporary authors (DX Reader version). Retrieved from Literature Resources from Gale database.
  • Provide the subscription database instead of the home page or entry page URL of the publisher  or other primary publishing channels, if the book is available from an archival database.   

- Ex. 5: E-book chapter, open access

Glass, G.  (2008). What is the fate of public education in America? In Fertilizers, pills, and magnetic strips: The fate of public education in America.Retrieved from http://infoagepub.com/glass-chapter-10
  • The chapter is open access but not the book. As a result, a search of the Information Age Publishing website would not retrieve this chapter so the complete URL was provided.
  • Remove the hyperlink.  

- Ex. 6: Introduction, preface, foreword, or afterword.

Take note: The section author is listed differently than the author(s) of the whole book:.
Author of section being cited. (Year). Name of section. In author of book, Title of book (p. or pp. page numbers). Place of publication: Publisher.

Gerry, I. (2008). Introduction. In B. Saveley, Secret city: Photographs from Peru (pp. 8-12). New York, NY: Thames and Hudson.

 - Ex. 7: Four authors of a chapter published in a conference proceedings.

Piton, T., Blanchard, J., Briand, H., & Gillie, F. (2009). Domain driven data mining to improve promotional campaign ROI and select marketing channels. In Proceedings of the 18th ACM Conference on Information and Knowledge Management (pp. 1057-1066). doi:10.1145/1645953.098
  • The book chapter is listed with "In ..." with the names of the editors.
  • The initials of the editors are listed before the surnames and include (Ed.) or (Eds.), followed by a comma.
  • Only the first word in the book title and the subtitle as well as any proper names should be capitalized.
  • Include the page numbers with p. or pp. in parentheses after the book title and before the period.
  • Include the city and the state abbreviation for the location or city and country.
  • Unnecessary words like Publisher, Company, and Inc. are not included.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip