Workshops
The Organizing Your Research workshop is intended to help you avoid accidental plagiarism by covering strategies to keep track of your sources.
For room locations, register at http://bit.ly/libreg
-
Thursday, Sep 22, 2011: Organizing Your ResearchRegister Today!
-
Tuesday, Nov 8, 2011: Organizing Your ResearchRegister Today!
Basics of APA Style
The "Basics of APA Style Tutorial" (American Psychological Association, 2011) provides a guide on applying some of the rules from the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Sixth Edition. This guide is not meant to replace the manual but act as a supplement to it.
How to Use this LibGuide
Bibliographic reference tools, also known as bibliographic management software or citation managers, are robust tools that help you manage, organize and track your research as well as format bibliographies and in-text citations formatted in the appropriate style (APA, MLA, or Chicago).
Bibliographic Reference Tools allow you to:
- Create bibliographic records for your citations, manually or electronically, from databases, catalogs or the Web.
- Manage data through annotations, self-assigned tags, author-specified keywords, and attachments.
- Create your own critical abstracts.
- Search and organize your own database of references according to your personal preferences (Folder, subject, item type, etc.).
- Link to word processing documents and insert footnotes, endnotes, or in-text citations.
- Create a standalone reference list using sources within database of references.
This LibGuide will focus on the following bibliographic reference tools:
Plagiarism Tutorial
Take this awesome tutorial on plagiarism created by the Alliant International Library, Library Director, Shawna Hellenius.
It'll teach you the ins and outs of recognizing and avoiding plagiarism!
Caution!
Though these reference management tools are great for organization and note keeping, it is important to keep the following in mind:
- Always double-check generated bibliographies and in-text citations for correct citation style agreement.
- It is important to be familiar with the citation style.
- Always refer back to style manuals for accuracy.
- Adjust or edit output styles when necessary.
The program will not correct typos, errors or ommissions from references manually inputted or imported from databases or catalogues.
- Always proofread for accuracy and grammar mechanics.
- Adjust or edit output when necessary.
Quick Comparisons
Here a few links to libraries who have created comparison charts of bibliographic reference tools.
- RefWorks/EndNote/Zotero Features ComparisonCreated by the University of Wisconsin - Madison Libraries (2011)
- Citation Manager Comparison GuideLibGuide created by the Emory Libraries (2011)
- Citation Styles: Citation Manager Comparison GuideSection of LibGuide created by the University of Georgia University Library (2011)

Loading...
