Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Organizing Your Research: EndNote

This guide provides an overview for organizing your research using the bibliographic reference tools EndNote and Refworks in addition to a detailed how-to guide on Mendeley and Zotero.

Getting Started with EndNote

EndNote is a subscription based software.

EndNote

EndNote is a propriety bibliographic citation management software developed by Thomson Reuters.  EndNote is a desktop application that is compatible with Windows and Mac computers that provides offline access to references and management features.  This standalone application includes a license to EndNote Web enabling source and reference management and organization online.  With EndNote Web, the user can collaborate with other researchers.

Using EndNote you can:

  • Organize and manage sources and references
  • Create a searchable database of references
  • Easily cite as your write with the in-text citation feature.
  • Save search strategies and maintain a research log.
  • Extract information (metadata) from PDFs that is searchable across the full-text of the PDF.
  • Compare and edit records side by side.
  • Create a publication profile and collaborate with other users on research through Groups online.

How to Use EndNote

Quick tutorial created by EndNoteTraining

EndNote LibGuides

Want to know more about EndNote?  Refer to these LibGuides for additional information.