Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COVID-19: Alliant Library Online Services: Expanded Resources

List of publishers and vendors
who are currently offering expanded access
to their publications/databases during the COVID-19 outbreak.

 

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews a nonprofit publisher that summarizes information in science. Founded in 1932, it provides 52 journals in 45 scientific disciplines.

Berghahn Journals

Berghahn Journals publishes scholarly books and a range of peer-review journals covering the social sciences, humanities, anthropology, migration & refugee studies, geography, history, and film studies.

Cengage

Cengage is an educational company for the higher education, K-12, professional, and library markets.  Cengage is providing temporary open access to instructional and health-related resources,

The Cochrane Library

Cochran is a collection of databases that contain information regarding healthcare decision-making. The databases:

  • Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
  • Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
  • Cochrane Clinical Answers

EBSCO Faculty Select

EBSCO is offering a simplified version of Faculty Select that includes access to OER (Open Educational Resources) material as well free EBSCO eBooks in one place, available at no charge for faculty to use through June 30, 2020. Be advised that this link takes you to a collection that has only 12,400 free ebooks, and 225,000 ebooks that would have to be purchased.

Elsevier/Science Direct

This is a website which provides access to a large database of scientific and medical research. It hosts over 12 million pieces of content from 3,500 academic journals and 34,000 e-books.  During the Covid-19 outbreak it is providing the following free resources:

COVID-19 Information Center

The site contains the latest early-stage and peer-reviewed research on COVID-19 from journals like The Lancet and Cell Press, evidence-based skill guides and care plans for treatment, safety and patient education, plus patient-focused resources from the CDC and WHO.

Elsevier Science Direct ebooks

              This site provides access to The 256 textbooks hosted on ScienceDirect,  They will be available through June 15, 2020. Click the link to                  view titles.

Érudit

Érudit provides a centralized access to the majority of francophone publications in the social sciences and humanities from North America, including scholarly and cultural journals, books, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, as well as various research documents and data. In all, more than 200,000 documents are made available from a single point of access.

Infobase     Username: distancelearning // Password: trial

Infobase is an educational solutions company providing digital reference content to the school and library community.  Infobase's curriculum-based products span a wide variety of core subject areas—from history, science, and literature to careers, health, and social issues—and offer flexible options for accessing the material.

Internet Archive:

The Internet Archive is a global library that loans digitized books to the world. It provides free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public.   The National Emergency Library provides free services through the duration of the US national emergency to meet the educational and inspirational needs of a community of readers and learners.   The National Emergency Library brings together all the books from Phillips Academy, Andover, Marygrove College, and much of Trent University’s collections, along with over a million other books donated from other libraries to readers that are locked out of their libraries.   The Library focus is providing online access to older books from the 1920s-1990s that don’t have an ebook available, such as: bestsellers and popular titles, along with a limited backlist.

John Libbey Eurotext

The company produces and distributes books and magazines in Europe, primarily in France. It is a leader in the field of medical publishing for the past 30 years, and has compiled a prestigious catalogue of books and publishes more than 40 new titles annually under the labels of John Libbey, Arnette, Doin and Pradel.

Ohio State University Press: The Knowledge Bank

The Knowledge Bank, a service of The Ohio State University Libraries, collects, preserves, and distributes the intellectual output of The Ohio State University. Faculty, staff, and students are invited to deposit their research and scholarship. Departments, administrative units, programs, and centers are invited to use the Knowledge Bank to distribute their working papers, technical reports, conference proceedings, and other research material.

Pearson Assessments

With more than 80 years of experience in the assessment field, Pearson’s Clinical Assessment group sells psychological testing and assessment resources. They have compiled a series of resources to help prepare practitioners for remote administration/telehealth.

Project Muse

This is a non-profit collaboration between libraries and publishers, an online database of peer-reviewed academic journals and electronic books. Project MUSE contains digital humanities and social science content from over 250 university presses and scholarly societies around the world.

RedShelf  Recovers

It provides students with no-cost access to digital textbooks for the rest of the semester, thanks to the generosity of our publishing partners.  (Program applies to students at semester-based schools, and access runs through May 25th.)

Royal Society Publishing

The Royal Society is a Fellowship of many of the world's most eminent scientists and is the oldest scientific academy in continuous existence.  Today the Society publishes a range of scientific journals covering the history of science, physical, mathematical, biological, and engineering sciences including its most recent publication, Royal Society

SAGE Knowledge

SAGE Knowledge is home to an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference resources. Content includes reference works, academic books, and professional training titles.

SAGE Research Methods Video

SAGE Research Methods Video Collection includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. Sage videos made with expert researchers from leading research institutions, SAGE authors, great teachers, and more.

SAGE Video

SAGE Video is a series of online collections developed in partnership with leading academics, societies and practitioners, including many of SAGE’s own authors and academic partners, to deliver cutting-edge educational collections within the social sciences.

University of California Press

The UC Press is one of the most forward-thinking scholarly publishers, committed to innovative research and exceptional scholarship. With a global circulation, UC Press publishes a range of journals covering the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, with key subject areas that include history, literature & criticism, film & media, music, religion, psychology, and sociology. The UC Press, Open Access provides free, immediate, and unrestricted access to peer-reviewed research and scholarly work.

University of Michigan Press

University of Michigan Press is a leading publisher and distributor of books and digital projects in the humanities and social sciences.  Areas of particular focus are performing arts, classical studies, political science, American studies (especially disability and class studies), Asian and African studies.