Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How do I locate an item?: Media & Dissertations

Media

Media

Certain media items (videotapes, DVDs, audiotapes) can be borrowed from Alliant and LINKplus Libraries. (Generally, media items cannot be requested using Interlibrary Loan.)  The library also has access to several databases with videos.  See the Databases for availablity.

LINKplus Media Lending:

Media items (e.g. DVDs, CDs, audio books, etc.) listed as "available" in the LINKplus union catalog may be borrowed by patrons whose home libraries also have chosen to be media lenders.

List of LINKplus Media Lenders

LINKplus Borrowing Rules

  • Loan Period: 21 days for books and some media

  • Loan Period: 7 days for selected media

  • Renewals: One three-week renewal is allowed for books and some media, unless the item has been requested at the owning institution. No renewal is allowed for media selected for 7-day loan. When renewing LINKplus items, there is a delay while the home institution is checked for availability. There may be a 15 minute wait after the renewal attempt before renewal status is confirmed.

  • Late Fee: $1.00 per item per day.

  • Replacement Fee: $115 per item.

Dissertations

Dissertations and some Theses

Before submitting an interlibrary loan request for a dissertation please check Dissertation and Theses (ProQuest) database. Most dissertations and some theses published since 1997 are available full-text (PDF format), as are some earlier dissertations.  For pre-1997 dissertations select the appropriate tab from the Interlibrary Loan Requests page.  Recently published dissertations may not be available for loan or on the ProQuest database.  Usually it takes about 3-6 months from submission to appear in the database and for the library to receive a bound copy.

1. Dissertations available at your home library (http://library.alliant.edu)

Search the Classic Catalog or Encore Advanced Search pages by author, title or keywords.  Limit "Format" to Thesis and "Location" to your home library. If a copy is available you can put a hold on item (using the request button).  Depending on staffing levels, you may have to retrieve the book from the library stacks if it isn’t on the hold shelves at the Circulation Desk. You can put a hold on your home library’s copy even if it is checked out.  If available online click on the link in the item's record.

2. Items available at other Alliant libraries:

If a dissertation or doctoral project is available at another Alliant library (Irvine, Los Angeles, Fresno, Sacramento, San Diego, and/or San Francisco) you can have it sent your home library.  After locating the item in the Library Catalog click on the “Request” button. Items usually arrive in 3-7 days and are held for 10 days. Dissertations check out for 28-days with two 28-day renewals.

3. Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest):

This database Includes dissertations and theses sent to ProQuest (UMI). Most titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews and full-text, called "Page Image - PDF." For earlier dissertations the two options for reading are 1) interlibrary loans -- not all universities and colleges will lend, or 2) you can order a digital or paper copy for a price -- usually the quickest method.