Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How do I locate an item?: Journal Articles

Citation Finder

If you know your citation and aren't in a database, you may want to use a Citation or DOI finder to look for full-text. This search utilizes the library's link resolver to find full text for you.

WorldCat

WorldCat, an online catalog for OCLC member libraries, contains records for books, web sites, films, journals, articles, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, sound recordings, videotapes, and includes 400 languages.  It is an excellent source to search for the availability of a print journal or books to see if a library nearby might have to photocopy.  Not all records have complete holdings information.

Journal Articles

Journal Articles

If you are searching within a database, look for "Find Full-Text @ Alliant" or the  Check LinkSource for possible full text from other sources  Link Resolver Icon.  When clicked, it should either take you to what it thinks is full-text or display a page with options of what to do next.  If you have already checked the library's print holdings, then click on "Article Reach" to request a copy of the article.  If your article is not found in the "Article Reach", then your request is passed onto our ILL department to be filled though other means.

You can still use the “Request a JOURNAL ARTICLE on interlibrary loan” only if the journal is not available full-text in one of the research databases, journal packages or "Article Reach".  If available in paper at your home library it might be quicker to come to the library and make copies (please bring your Alliant ID card to use in the Pay-for-Print system). Search Encore or Online Journals to check online availability.  If you need assistance with checking the availability of a journal please call the reference department of your home library, email library@alliant.edu or use the “ask a librarian” box on the home page.