Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Measures and Surveys and Scales, Oh My! - Finding Assessment Tools: Books, Dissertations, Test Kits & Journals

This guide will help dissertation students locate measuring instruments and psychometric information about them. The term, test, is used when referring to any type of instrument or tool, including measure, survey, questionnaire, scale, and interview.

Alliant Dissertations

Some Alliant dissertations include the full text of tests in their appendices. On library homepage, click Alliant Theses/Dissertations, then use the pull-down menu on the left to select Tests. Type in the test you’re looking for and click Search:

 

 

FMS26

Clicking the title link retrieves a list of dissertations that used that test. Ways to refine your search: 1) arrange your results list by date-published, using the System Sorted pull-down menu to select Reverse Year and 2) limit to LA dissertations only, using the View Entire Collection pull-down and click Search.

 

FMS27

Test Kits

The Alliant Library has some actual tests available for checkout. To see a complete list, go to Advanced Search and type the test you want in the search box. You can search by location; and by Material Type, select TEST/KIT. To see the most recently published edition, use the limiter Sort: sorted by date.

FMS28

For example, this search retrieves the LA library’s test collection. Because these tests are primarily for use by students in assessment courses, you will need a letter from one of your dissertation committee members in order to borrow one from the LA Library.  Check with your home library for more information on checking out test kits.


FMS29

Websites

Collections of Published Tests

These books contain the full text of some tests. 


  • Fischer, J., Corcoran, K., & Corcoran, K. (2007). Measures for clinical practice and research: A sourcebook. Oxford: Oxford University Press. Volume 1: Couples, Families, and Children; Volume 2: Adults.  Check availability!
  • Touliatos, J., Perlmutter, B. F., & Straus, M. A. (2001). Handbook of family measurement techniques. Thousand Oaks, Calif: Sage Publications. Volume 3: Family Relations; Marital Relations; Parent-Child Relations; Family Adjustment, Health, and Well-Being; Family Problems.  Check availability!
  • Rush, A. J., First, M. B., & Blacker, D. (2008). Handbook of psychiatric measures. Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Pub. CD-ROM contains full-text of tests in PDF.  Check availability!
  • Antony, M. M., Orsillo, S. M., & Roemer, L. (2001). Practitioner's guide to empirically based measures of anxiety. AABT clinical assessment series. New York: Kluwer Academic/PlenumCheck availability!
  • Nezu, A. M. (2000). Practitioner's guide to empirically based measures of depression. AABT clinical assessment series. New York: Kluwer Academic / Plenum. Check availability!
  • McDowell, I. (2006). Measuring health : a guide to rating scales and questionnaires / Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press. Check availability!
  • Anderson, D. C. (2007). Assessing the human-animal bond : a compendium of actual measures / West Lafayette, Ind. : Purdue University Press. Check availability!
  • Allison, D. B., Baskin, M.L. (2009). Handbook of assessment methods for eating behaviors and weight-related problems : measures, theory, and research / Los Angeles : Sage Publications. Check availability!

Books