Book by a single author
Author, A. (Year). Title of book. Publisher.
Example:
Pratt, C. (2007). The encyclopedia of shamanism. Rosen Publishing Group, Inc.
Book by two or more authors
Author, A. A., & Author, D. D. (Year). Title of book. Publisher.
Example:
Hanson, R., & Mendius, R. (2009). Buddha’s brain: the practical neuroscience of
happiness, love and wisdom. New Harbinger Publications, Inc.
Book by a group author with no DOI
Group author. (Year). Title of book. Publisher.
Example:
| American | Psychological Association. (2010). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.). American Psychological Association |
Book with DOI (Retrieved online)
See Ch.10.2, Examples 20 and 21 of the 7th edition of the APA manual. The following example is found on p. 321.
Brown, L.S. (2018). Feminist therapy (2nd ed.). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000092-000
|
|
|
|
|
|
Multivolume work. When using a multivolume work, only include the information of the volume(s) that you actually used.
Author, A. (Year). Title of multivolume work (Vol. volume number-s). Publisher. See APA manual (7th ed.), p. 323, #30. They are shown below.
Examples:
Fiske, S.T., Gilbert, D.T., & Lindzey, G. (2010). Handbook of Social Psychology (5th ed., Vol.1). John Wiley & Sons. https://doi.org/10.1002/9780470561119
Travis, C.B., & White, J.W. (Eds.) (2018). APA handbook of the psychology of women: Vol.1. History, theory, and battlegrounds. American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000059-000
Book, republished in translation.
Include translator name after the title of the book. Also include the year the work was originally published, and the year the translated version was published.
Example: This example is in the 7th ed. APA manual, Ch. 10, p.323, #28
Piaget, J. & Inhelder, B. (1969). The psychology of the child (H. Weaver, Trans.; 2nd ed.). Basic Books. (Original work published 1966)
Parenthetical citation: (Piaget & Inhelder, 1966/1969)
Narrative citation: Piaget and Inhelder (1966/1969)
Book chapter in an edited book without a DOI- This example can be found on p. 326, Section 10.3, #39, in the APA 7th ed.
Weinstock, R., Leong, G.B., & Silva, J.A. (2003). Defining forensic psychiatry: Roles and responsibilities. In R. Rosner (Ed.), Principles and practice of forensic psychiatry (2nd ed., pp.7-13). CRC Press.
See 7th ed. APA beginning on pg. 321, Section 10.3
Book chapter
| Weinstock, R., Leong, G.B., & Silva |
J.A. (2003). Defining forensic psychiatry: Roles and responsibilities. In R. Rosner (Ed.), Principles and practice of forensic psychiatry. (2nd ed., pp. 7-13). CRC Press.
|
| Pargament, |
K. I. (1998). Religion and coping. In Handbook of religion and mental health (pp. 111-128). San Diego, CA: Academic Press. |
| Smith, |
J., III. (2012). New directions for investor protection. In B. Silverstein Jr., Handbook of investment (pp. 214-233). Paris, France: World Bank. |
Ex. 2: Book chapter in edited book
| Hawkins, |
R. C., & Clement, P. F. (1984). Binge eating: Measurement problems and a conceptual model. In R. C. Hawkings, II, W. J. Fremouw, & P. F. Clement (Eds.), The binge-purge syndrome: Diagnosis, treatment, and research (pp. 229-251). New York, NY: Springer. |
| Lacey, |
J. H. (1986). Pathogenesis. In I. J. Downey, J. C. Malkin (Eds), Current approaches: Bulimia nervosa (pp. 241-265). Southampton, United Kingdom: Duphar. |
| Johnson, |
A. M., Verson, P. A., & Feiler, A. R. (2008). Behavioral genetic studies of personality: An introduction and review of the results of 50+ years of research. in G. J. Boyle, G. Matthews, & D. H. Saklofske, The SAGE Handbook of Personality Theory and Assessment: Vol 1: Personality theories and models (pp. 145-173). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
|
| American |
Psychiatric Association. (2000). Appendix I: Outline for cultural formulation and glossary of culture bound syndromes. In Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (4th ed., text rev.). Washington, DC: Author. |
If a book chapter has a DOI number, the number replaces the location and publisher information.
| American | Psychiatric Association. (2000). Appendix I: Outline for cultural formulation and glossary of culture bound syndromes. In Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (4th ed., text rev.). doi:10.1176/appi.books.9780890423349.7060 |
Ex. 3: Entry in a dictionary, thesaurus, or encyclopedia, with group author
Group author.. (n.d). Entry title. In Title of encyclopedia. Retrieval date.
| American Psychological Association. (n.d.) Positive transference. In APA dictionary of psychology. Retrieved August 31, 2019, from https://dictionary.apa.org/positivetransference |
- Ex. 5: Chapter in an edited ebook or audiobook without a DOI
| Tafoya, N., & Del Vecchio, A. (2005). Back to the future: An examination of the Native American Holocaust experience. In M. McGoldrick, J. Giordano, & N. Garcia-Preto (Eds.), Ethnicity and family therapy (3rd ed., pp.55-63). Guilford Press. http://a.co/36xRhBT |