Identifying the WHEN of the citation is often as simple as locating the publication of the source. However, there are different types and variations of WHEN. Here's a list of the elements of WHEN as well as the APA source information.
|
Elements of WHEN |
APA Sources |
|
Archival source with corporate author |
APA Style Blog, Archival Documents and Collections. https://apastyle.apa.org/style-grammar-guidelines/references/archival |
|
Blog post |
APA, p. 320, #17 |
|
Collection of letters from an archive |
APA Style Blog, Archival Documents and Collections. https://apastyle.apa.org/style-grammar-guidelines/references/archival |
|
Date, information included |
|
|
Year |
APA, p. 289-290, Section 9.14 |
|
Year, Month |
APA, p. 289-290, Section 9.14 |
|
Year, Month Day |
APA, p. 320, #16 APA, p.333-334, #60-63 APA, p. 351, #110 |
|
No date |
APA, p. 291, Section 9.17 APA, p. 324-325, #33 APA, p. 328, #47 APA, p. 347, #100 APA, p. 349, #104 APA, p.349-350, #106 APA, p. 350, #108 APA, p. 352, #113-#114 |
|
Date not certain (circa) |
APA Style Blog, Archival Documents and Collections. https://apastyle.apa.org/style-grammar-guidelines/references/archival |
|
Date range |
APA, p. 331, #56 APA, p. 345, #93 APA, p. 346, #97 |
|
Double dates –multi volume set |
APA, p. 323, #30 |
|
Double dates - in text citation |
APA, p. 302-303, Section 9.42 |
|
Original date of publication |
APA, p. 302-303, Section 9.42 APA, p. 325, #35-37 |
|
Document, online |
APA, p. 350-352, #110-114 |
|
Advanced Online Publication or in-press article |
APA p. 318, #7-8 |
|
Interview recorded and available in an archive |
APA Style Blog, Archival Documents and Collections https://apastyle.apa.org/style-grammar-guidelines/references/archival |
|
Journal article (scholarly) |
|
|
Published monthly or less frequently |
APA, pp. 317-319, #1-11 |
|
Letter from a repository |
APA Style Blog, Archival documents and collections https://apastyle.apa.org/style-grammar-guidelines/references/archival |
|
Letter from a private collection |
APA Style Blog, Archival documents and collections https://apastyle.apa.org/style-grammar-guidelines/references/archival |
|
Magazine article |
APA p. 317, #3 APA, p. 320, #15 |
|
Message posted to an online forum post |
APA, p. 350, #109 |
|
Newspaper article |
APA, p. 320, #16 |
|
Photographs |
APA, p. 347, #101 |
|
Podcast |
APA, p. 345, #93-94 |
|
Poster session |
APA p. 333, #62 |
|
Retrieval date |
APA, p. 290, Section 9.16 APA, p. 319, #14 APA, p. 324-325, #33 APA, p. 328, #47 APA, p. 347, #100 APA, p. 349, #104 APA, p. 349-350, #106 APA, p. 352, #114
|
|
Review of a book |
APA, p. 335, #68 |
|
Same date for two sources by same author |
When two articles by the same author are published in the same year, arrange them alphabetically by title and add ‘a’ and ‘b’ after the publication year so the articles can be differentiated in text citations. |
|
Software |
APA, p. 339, #77 |
|
Symposium contribution |
APA, p. 333, #63 |
|
Unpublished conference paper or presentation |
APA, p. 332, #61 |
|
Video (YouTube) |
APA, p. 344, #90 |
|
Website |
APA, p. 351, #111-112 APA, p. 352, #114 |